The deep-slope bottomfish fishery in Hawaii concentrates primarily on catching high valued snapper species, a few species of papio and ulua (jacks), and a single species of grouper. The prized Deep 7 bottomfish species include onaga (Etelis coruscans), ehu (E. carbunculus), opakapaka (Pristipomoides filamentosus), kalekale (P. sieboldii), lehi (Aphareus rutilans), gindai (P. zonatus) and hapuupuu (Epinephelus quernus).

Additional species of Hawaii bottomfish that are federally regulated include uku (Aprion virescens), white ulua (Caranx ignobilis), black ulua (C. lugubris), butaguchi (Pseudocaranx dentex), taape (Lutjanus kasmira), yellow tail kalekale (Pristipomoides auricilla) and kahala (Seriola dumerili). These species together are collectively known as the Bottomfish Management Unit Species (BMUS).

  • Deep 7 Identification Cards (pdf)
  • Deep 7 Identification Video (mov)
  • Deep 7 Identification Training Long Version (pdf)
  • Deep 7 Identification Training Short Version (pdf)
  • Federal Bottomfish Management Unit Species (pdf)
Meetings & Announcements

MHI Bottomfish News-Volume 5: MHI Season is now manged only using a TAC

MHI Bottomfish News-Volume 4: Mahalo Commercial MHI Bottomfish fishermen

Compliance Guide for Main Hawaiian Islands Bottomfish Fishery

Main Hawaiian Islands Bottomfish Rack Card

Bottomfish News Volume 3: Attention: Commercial Bottomfish FIshers and Dealers, A Request for Your Kokua

PRESS RELEASE-10-17-08: Federal Management Council Recommends 35 Percent Increase in Main Hawaiian Islands Bottomfish Harvest for 2008-2009 Season

Main Hawaiian Islands Non-Commercial Bottomfish Reporting Requirements           (73 FR 41296)

FR Notice for Main Hawaiian Islands Bottomfish Final Rule

NWHI bottomfish fishery scheduled to close